

GOVERNMENT OF ORISSA

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR 2007-2008

PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR, 2007-2008

The Parliamentary Affairs Department was created in accordance with the General Administration Department Resolution No.5351 (E)-Gen., dated the 13th March, 1990. The following subjects were allotted to the Department:-

- 1. Governor's Establishment.
- 2. Ministers' Establishment including the Establishment of Chief Minister.
- 3. Orissa Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.
- 4. Council of Ministers and Cabinet.
- 5. Establishment of personal staff of Ministers.
- 6. Formation of Cabinet Sub-Committees.

1. Governor's Establishment

There is a separate Secretariat for looking after the different affairs of the Governor's Establishment. The Parliamentary Affairs Department operates as the Nodal Department between Government and the Governor's Secretariat.

2. Ministers Establishment:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department looks after the amenities admissible for the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip.

All personal entitlements of the Chief Minister and the Ministers are budgeted for by the Parliamentary Affairs Department.

(I) The following Acts and Rules thereunder are administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department.

- (a) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1960.
- (b) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1959.
- (c) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Motor Car Advance Rules, 1968.
- (d) The Orissa Ministers' Salary and Allowances Act, 1952.
- (e) The Orissa Ministers' Travelling Allowance Rules, 1964.
- (f) The Orissa Ministers' Motor Car Advance Rules, 1967.
- (g) The Orissa Ministers' Drawal of Sitting Allowance Rules, 1995.
- (h) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954.
- (i) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Drawal of Travelling Allowances and Daily Allowances Rules, 1957.
- (j) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Accommodation in Inspection Bungalows Rules, 1962.
- (k) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Telephone Facilities Rules, 1964.
- (I) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Salary and Allowance (Deduction of House Rent and other Charges) Rules, 1957.
- (m) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' (Medical Attendance) Rules, 1965.
- (n) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Ex-Members' Pension Rules, 1979.
- (o) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Family Pension Rules, 1988.
- (p) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Jeep, Motor Cycle, Scooter or Alike Vehicle Advance Rules, 1986.
- (q) The Leader of Opposition of the Orissa Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1968.
- (r) The Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip of Orissa Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1969.

During the year under report, amendment to the Orissa Legislative Assembly Members Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954 and Orissa Ministers Salaries and Allowances Act 1952 has been passed.

4. Orissa Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department deals with summon, prorogation and dissolution of the Orissa Legislative Assembly. After the General Election to the Orissa Legislative Assembly during April, 2004, the 13th Orissa Legislative Assembly was constituted by the Election Commission of India vide Notification No.308/OR-LA/2004 dated 15th May, 2004. During the period under report, the 13th Orissa Legislative Assembly was in Session from-

- (i) The 21st March, 2007 to 2nd April, 2007 (10th Session)
- (ii) The 1st June, 2007 to 13th July, 2007 (11th Session)
- (iii) The 19th November,2007 to 29th November, 2007 (12th Session).
- (iv) The 13th Session of Thirteenth Orissa Legislative Assembly is in Session since 13.02.2008.

5. Council of Ministers and Cabinet.

The Council of Ministers is functioning under the leadership of Shri Naveen Pattnaik, the Chief Minister, with effect from 16.05.2004 for the second term. The Memoranda received from different Departments of Government relating to various subjects are put up before the Cabinet/ Council of Ministers by the Parliamentary Affairs Department. Decisions taken thereon are communicated to the concerned Secretaries by this Department. During the year under report, 4 (four) Meeting of the Council of Ministers and 11 (Eleven) Meetings of the Cabinet were held till the report is compiled.

During the year under report, Swearing -in-ceremony of His Excellency Governor of Orissa took place on 21.08.2007 and Swearing-in-Ceremony of Council of Ministers also took place on 5.02.2008.

6. Establishment of staff of Ministers.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department is the administrative Department in respect of Establishment of the staff of the Office of the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip.

7. Implementation of Right to Information Act.

During the year under Report 113 (one hundred thirteen) applications have been received in the Department, all of which have been disposed of within the frame work of the Right to Information Act.

8. Commission of Inquiry.

A Commission of Inquiry has been set-up consisting of Hon'ble Justice Shri Chira Ranjan Pal, Retired Judge of Orissa High Court vide Notification No. 6178/PAD. Dated 15th September, 2004 to enquire into alleged violation of the Recruitment procedure and the illegal and unfair practice adopted in giving appointments and showing of favouritism and nepotism by misuse of official position, alleged corruption committed in purchase of computers for the Legislative Assembly and the alleged irregularities committed in installation of Attendance and Access Control System in the Orissa Legislative Assembly and to furnish the report to the Government within 3 (three) months. The Commission has actually started functioning in premises of Orissa State Guest House with effect from 1st December, 2004. The tenure of the Commission has been extended for the 25th term upto 29th February, 2008 till the report is compiled.

• • • •