

GOVERNMENT OF ORISSA

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR 2008-2009

PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR, 2008-2009 The Parliamentary Affairs Department was created in accordance with the General Administration Department Resolution No.5351 (E)-Gen., dated the 13th March, 1990. The following subjects were allotted to the Department:-

- 1. Governor's Establishment.
- 2. Ministers' Establishment including the Establishment of Chief Minister.
- 3. Orissa Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.
- 4. Council of Ministers and cabinet.
- 5. Establishment of personal staff of Ministers.
- 6. Formation of Cabinet Sub-Committees.

1. Governor's Establishment

There is a separate Secretariat for looking after the different affairs of the Governor's Establishment. The Parliamentary Affairs Department operates as the Nodal Department between Government and the Governor's Secretariat.

2. Ministers Establishment:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department looks after the amenities admissible for the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip.

All personal entitlements of the Chief Minister and the Ministers are budgeted for by the Parliamentary Affairs Department.

3. (I) The following Acts and Rules there under are administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department.

- (a) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Speaker's salary and Allowances Act, 1960.
- (b) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Deputy Speakers's salary and Allowance Act, 1959.
- (c) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Motor Car Advance Rules, 1968.
- (d) The Orissa Ministers' Salary and Allowances Act, 1952.
- (e) The Orissa Ministers' Traveling Allowances Rules, 1964.
- (f) The Orissa Ministers' Motor Car Advance Rules, 1967.
- (g) The Orissa Ministers' Drawal of Sitting Allowance Rules, 1995.

- (h) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954.
- (i) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Drawal of Traveling Allowances and Daily Allowances Rules, 1957.
- (j) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Accommodation in Inspection Bungalows Rules, 1962.
- (k) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Telephone Facilities Rules, 1964.
- (l) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Salary and Allowance (Deduction of House Rent and other Charges) Rules, 1957.
- (m) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' (Medical Attendance) Rules, 1965.
- (n) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Ex-Members' Pension Rules, 1979.
- (o) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Family Pension Rules, 1988.
- (p) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Jeep, Motor Cycle, Scooter or Alike Vehicle Advance Rules, 1986.
- (q) The Leader of Opposition of the Orissa Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1968.
- (r) The Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip of Orissa Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1969.

4. Orissa Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department deals with summon, prorogation and dissolution of the Orissa Legislative Assembly. After General Election to the Orissa Legislative Assembly during April, 2004, the 13th Orissa Legislative Assembly was constituted by the Election Commission of India vide Notification No,.308/OR-LA/2004 dated 15th May, 2004. During the period under report, the 13th Orissa Legislative Assembly was in Session from-

- (i) The 13th February, 2008 to 31st April, 2008 (Part of the 13th Session).
- (ii) The 20th August, 2008 to 29th August, 2008 (14th Session)
- (iii) The 26th November, 2008 to 20th December, 2008 (15th Session)

(iv) The 16th Session of the 13th Orissa Legislative Assembly is in Session since 09.02.2009.

5. Council of Ministers and cabinet.

The Council of Ministers is functioning under the leadership of Shri Naveen Pattnaik, the Chief Minister, with effect from 16.05.2004 for the second term. The Memoranda received from different Departments of Government relating to various subjects are put up before the Cabinet/ Council of Ministers by the parliamentary Affairs Department. Decisions taken thereon are communicated to the concerned Secretaries by this Department. During the year under report, 2 (two) meetings of the Council of Ministers and 8 (Eight) meetings of the Cabinet were held till the report is compiled.

6. Establishment of staff of Ministers.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department is the administrative Department in respect of Establishment of the staff of the Office of the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip.

7. Implementation of Right to Information Act.

During the year under Report 150 (one hundred fifty) RTI applications addressed to P.I.O. and 15 applications to the First Appellate Authority have been received in this Department. Almost all of the applications have been disposed of within the frame work of the Right to Information Act.

8. Commission of Inquiry.

A Commission of Inquiry has been set-up consisting of Hon'ble Justice Shri Chira Ranjan Pal, Retired Judge of Orissa High Court vide Notification No. 6178/PAD. Dated 15th September, 2004 to enquire into alleged violation of the Recruitment procedure and the illegal and unfair practice adopted in giving appointments and showing of favoritism and nepotism by misuse of official position, alleged corruption committed in purchase of computers for the Legislative Assembly and the alleged irregularities committed in installation of Attendance and Access Control System in the Orissa Legislative Assembly. The Commission has started functioning with effect from 1st December, 2004. In the meantime, Hon'ble High Court, Orissa vide their Judgment dated 30.09.2008 have quashed the appointment of the Commission. Government have decided to challenge the said Judgment of the Hon'ble High Court and to file S.L.P. in the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India.