

GOVERNMENT OF ORISSA

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR 2010-2011

PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR, 2010-2011

The Parliamentary Affairs Department was created in accordance with the General Administration Department Resolution No.5351(E)-Gen., dated the 13th March, 1990. The following subjects were allotted to the Department:-

- 1. Governor's Establishment.
- 2. Ministers' Establishment including the Establishment of Chief Minister.
- 3. Orissa Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.
- 4. Council of Ministers and Cabinet.
- Establishment of personal staff of Ministers including Chief Minister, Orissa, Leader of Opposition, Chief Whip & Deputy Chief Whip.
- 6. Formation of Cabinet Committees and Cabinet Sub Committees.

1. Governor's Establishment

There is a separate Secretariat for looking after the different affairs of the Governor's Establishment. The Parliamentary Affairs Department operates as the Nodal Department between Government and the Governor's Secretariat.

2. Ministers Establishment:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department looks after the amenities admissible for the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip and their personal entitlements.

3. The following Acts and Rules thereunder are administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department.

 (a) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1960.

- 2 -

- (b) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1959.
- (c) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Motor Car Advance Rules, 1968.
- (d) The Orissa Ministers' Salary and Allowances Act, 1952.
- (e) The Orissa Ministers' Travelling Allowance Rules, 1964.
- (f) The Orissa Ministers' Motor Car Advance Rules, 1967.
- (g) The Orissa Ministers' Drawal of Sitting Allowance Rules, 1995.
- (h) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954.
- (i) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Drawal of Travelling Allowances and Daily Allowances Rules, 1957.

- 3 -

- (j) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Accommodation in Inspection Bungalows Rules, 1962.
- (k) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Telephone Facilities Rules, 1964.
- (I) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Salary and Allowance (Deduction of House Rent and other Charges) Rules, 1957.
- (m) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' (Medical Attendance) Rules, 1965.
- (n) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Ex-Members' Pension Rules, 1979.
- (o) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Family Pension Rules, 1988.
- (p) The Orissa Legislative Assembly Members' Jeep, Motor Cycle, Scooter or Alike Vehicle Advance Rules, 1986.

- 4 -

- (q) The Leader of Opposition of the Orissa Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1968.
- (r) The Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip of Orissa Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1969.

4. Orissa Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department deals with summon, prorogation and dissolution of the Orissa Legislative Assembly. After the General Election to the Orissa Legislative Assembly during May, 2009, the 14th Orissa Legislative Assembly was constituted by the Election Commission of India vide their Notification No.308/OR-LA/2009 dated 19th May, 2009. During the period under report, the 14th Orissa Legislative Assembly was in Session from-

(i) The 22^{nd} June, 2010 to 7^{th} August, 2010 (4^{th} Session).

- 5 -

- (ii) The 23rd November, 2010 to 22nd December, 2010 (5th Session).
- (iii) The Assembly is in 6th Session since 14th February, 2011.

5. Council of Ministers and Cabinet.

The Council of Ministers is functioning under the leadership of Shri Naveen Pattnaik, Chief Minister, with effect from 21.05.2009 for the third term. Memoranda received from different Departments of Government relating to various subjects are placed before the Cabinet/ Council of Ministers by the Parliamentary Affairs Department. Decisions taken thereon are communicated to the concerned Departments. During the year under report, 3 (three) Meeting of the Council of Ministers and 7 (seven) Meetings of the Cabinet were held.

6. Establishment of staff of Ministers.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department is the Administrative Department in respect of the staff of the Office of the Chief Minister, Ministers, Leader of

- 6 -

Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip.

7. Implementation of Right to Information Act.

During the year under Report, 162 (one hundred sixty-two) RTI applications and 15 (fifteen) appeal petitions were received by the P.I.O and First Appellate Authority of this Department respectively. All the applications have been disposed of as per the provisions of the Right to Information Act.

8. Youth Parliament Competition.

As per the decision taken in All India Whips Conference and meeting of the Ministers for Parliamentary Affairs, first ever Youth Parliament Competition was organized in the state through School & Mass Education Department to spread the message of parliamentary democracy. The 1st ever Youth Parliament Competition 2009 was held during March 2010 among the High School Level

- 7 -

students. For the 2nd Youth Parliament Competition, funds have been released for conducting the said competition before end of the current financial year i.e. by March, 2011.

9. Book Circular No. 47 –

Book Circular No. 47 containing detailed guidelines with regard to relationship between Members of Parliament and State Legislators and Government Servant is administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department. The Department issues appropriate instructions to ensure that guidelines enumerated in the Book Circular are scrupulously implemented / followed by all concerned in letter and spirit. It also makes necessary amendments in the Circular as and when required.

10. Special Cell –

One Special Cell has been constituted vide Parliamentary Affairs Department Office Order No.851/PAD, dated 03.01.2006 to liaise between

- 8 -

the Assembly Secretariat and different Departments of Government for compliance to various observations / recommendations of the Standing Committees and the House Committees etc. of Orissa Legislative Assembly.

11. Commission of Inquiry.

A Commission of Inquiry was set-up consisting of Hon'ble Justice Shri Chira Ranjan Pal, Retired Judge of Orissa High Court vide Notification No. 6178/PAD. Dated 15th September, 2004 to enquire into alleged violation of the recruitment procedure and illegal and unfair practice / favouritism / nepotism adopted in giving appointments by misuse of official position, alleged corruption committed in purchase of computers for Legislative Assembly and the the alleged irregularities committed in installation of Attendance and Access Control System in the Orissa Legislative Assembly. The Commission started functioning with effect from 1st December, 2004. However, Hon'ble High Court, Orissa vide their

- 9 -

Judgment dated 30.09.2008 have quashed the appointment of the Commission. State Government have filed S.L.P in the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India vide C.C. No.6532/09 challenging the said order of Hon'ble High Court, Orissa. Till the period under report, the case is pending before the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India.

- 10 -