

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR 2012-2013

PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT

REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR 2012-2013

The Parliamentary Affairs Department was created in accordance with the General Administration Department Resolution No.5351(E)-Gen., dated the 13th March, 1990. The following subjects were allotted to the Department:-

- 1. Governor's Establishment.
- 2. Ministers' Establishment including the Establishment of Chief Minister.
- Odisha Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.
- 4. Council of Ministers and Cabinet.
- Establishment of personal staff of Ministers including Chief Minister, Odisha, Leader of Opposition, Chief Whip & Deputy Chief Whip.
- 6. Formation of Cabinet Committees and Cabinet Sub-Committees.

1. Governor's Establishment:

There is a separate Secretariat for looking after the different affairs of the Governor's Establishment. The Parliamentary Affairs Department operates as the Nodal Department between Government and the Governor's Secretariat.

2. Ministers Establishment:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department looks after the amenities admissible for the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip and their personal entitlements.

3. The following Acts and Rules thereunder are administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department:

- (a) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1960.
- (b) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1959.

- (c) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Motor Car Advance Rules, 1968.
- (d) The Odisha Ministers' Salary and Allowances Act, 1952.
- (e) The Odisha Ministers' Travelling Allowance Rules, 1964.
- (f) The Odisha Ministers' Motor Car Advance Rules, 1967.
- (g) The Odisha Ministers' Drawal of Sitting Allowance Rules, 1995.
- (h) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954.
- (i) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Drawal of Travelling Allowances and Daily Allowances Rules, 1957.
- (j) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Accommodation in inspection Bungalows Rules, 1962.

- (k) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Telephone Facilities Rules, 1964.
- (I) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Salary and Allowance (Deduction of House Rent and other Charges) Rules, 1957.
- (m)The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' (Medical Attendance) Rules, 1965.
- (n) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Ex-Members' Pension Rules, 1979.
- (o) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Family Pension Rules, 1988.
- (p) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Jeep, Motor Cycle, Scooter or Alike Vehicle Advance Rules, 1986.
- (q) The Leader of Opposition of the Odisha Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1968.

(r) The Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip of Odisha Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1969.

4. Odisha Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department deals with summon, prorogation and dissolution of the Odisha Legislative Assembly. After the General Election to the Odisha Legislative Assembly during May, 2009, the 14th Odisha Legislative Assembly was constituted by the Election Commission of India vide their Notification No.308/OR-LA/2009 dated 19th May, 2009. During the period under report, the 14th Odisha Legislative Assembly was in Session from –

- (i) The 28th August, 2012 to 07th September, 2012 (10th Session).
- (ii) The 27th November, 2012 to 22nd December, 2012 (11th Session).
- (iii) The Assembly is in 12th Session since 14th February, 2013.

5. Council of Ministers and Cabinet:

The Council of Ministers is functioning under the leadership of Shri Naveen Pattnaik, Chief Minister, with effect from 21.05.2009 for the third term. Memoranda received from different Departments of Government relating to various subjects are placed before the Cabinet / Council of Ministers by the Parliamentary Affairs Department. Decisions taken thereon are communicated to the concerned Departments. During the year under report, 1 (one) Meeting of the Council of Ministers and 9 (Nine) Meetings of the Cabinet were held.

6. Governor's Establishment:

Being the Administrative Department of Governor's Establishment, the Parliamentary Affairs Department have amended the Governor's Secretariat Service (Recruitment) Rule, 1974 during the period under reference for the first time since inception.

7. Establishment of staff of Ministers:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department is the Administrative Department in respect of the staff of the Office of the Chief Minister, Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip.

8. Implementation of Right to Information Act:

During the year under Report, 249 (Two Hundred Forty-nine) R.T.I. applications and 27 (Twenty-seven) appeal petitions were received by the P.I.O. and First Appellate Authority of this Department respectively. All the applications have been disposed of as per the provisions of the Right to Information Act.

9. Youth Parliament Competition:

As per the decision taken in All India Whips Conference and meeting of the Ministers for Parliamentary Affairs, first ever Youth Parliament Competition was organized in the year 2009-10 in the State through School & Mass Education Department with an aim to spread the message of parliamentary

democracy. Since inception, 2 Youth Parliament Competitions have been taken up. During the year under reference, the 3rd Youth Parliament Competition will be held sometime in March this year. Funds have been released for the purpose.

10. Book Circular No.47:

Book Circular No.47 containing detailed guidelines with regard to relationship between Members of Parliament and State Legislators and Government Servant is administered Parliamentary Affairs Department. The Department issues appropriate instructions to ensure that guidelines enumerated in the Book Circular are scrupulously implemented / followed by all concerned in letter and spirit. It also makes necessary amendments in the Circular as and when required.

11. Special Cell:

One Special Cell has been constituted vide Parliamentary Affairs Department Office Order No.851/PAD, dated 03.01.2006 to liaise between the

Assembly Secretariat and different Departments of Government for compliance to various observations / recommendations of the Standing Committees and the House Committees etc. of Odisha Legislative Assembly.

12. Commission of Inquiry:

A Commission of Inquiry was set up consisting of Hon'ble Justice Shri Chira Ranjan Pal, Retired Judge of Odisha High Court vide Notification No.6178/PAD, dated 15th September, 2004 to enquire into alleged violation of the recruitment procedure and illegal and unfair practice / favouritism / nepotism adopted in giving appointments by misuse of official position, alleged corruption committed in purchase of computers for the Legislative Assembly and the alleged irregularities committed in installation of Attendance and Access Control System in the Odisha Legislative Assembly. The Commission started functioning with effect from 1st December, 2004. However, Hon'ble High Court, Odisha, vide their Judgement dated 30.09.2008, have quashed the

appointment of the Commission. State Government have filed S.L.P. in the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India vide SLP (C) No.20285/2010 challenging the said order of Hon'ble High Court, Odisha. Till the period under report, the case is pending before the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India.

---X---