

#### **GOVERNMENT OF ODISHA**

# REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR, 2020-2021







PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT

## REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT FOR THE YEAR 2020-2021

The Parliamentary Affairs Department was created in accordance with the General Administration Department Resolution No.5351(E)-Gen., dated the 13<sup>th</sup> March, 1990. The following subjects are allotted to the Department:-

- 1. Governor's Establishment.
- 2. Ministers' Establishment including the Establishment of Chief Minister.
- 3. Odisha Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs.
- 4. Council of Ministers and Cabinet.
- 5. Office Establishment of Ministers including Chief Minister, Odisha, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip & Government Deputy Chief Whip.
- 6. Formation of Cabinet Committees and Cabinet Sub-Committees.

#### 1. Governor's Establishment:

There is a separate Secretariat for management of different affairs of the Governor's Establishment, State Universities and Philanthropic organizations like Hind Kusth Nivaran Sangh, Indian Red Cross Society, Odisha State Bharat Scouts & Guides, State Tuberculosis Association of Odisha, Rajya Sainik Board, St. John Ambulance etc. The Parliamentary Affairs Department operates as the Nodal Department between Government and the Governor's Secretariat.

Being the Administrative Department of Governor's Establishment, all the Establishment matters which need Government approval are routed through Parliamentary Affairs Department. During the year 2020-21, 20 no. of proposals initiated by Governor's Establishment have been actively considered and necessary approvals have been communicated. The budgetary provisions of Governor's Establishment are also allotted through this Department.

#### 2. Ministers Establishment:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department looks after the amenities admissible for the Chief Minister, all other Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip and their personal entitlements. During the year 2019-20, sitting allowance of Hon'ble Speaker, Minister, Deputy Speaker has been revised and a new allowance called Medical Allowance amounting to Rs. 2000 per month has been introduced for every Ex-Member of the Assembly on amendment of the Odisha Legislative Assembly Member's Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954.

The Parliamentary Affairs Department, being the Administrative Department, deals with the personal matters relating to 246 employees working in Office of the Chief Minister, Ministers, Leader of Opposition, Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip including this Department.

### 3. The following Acts and Rules thereunder are administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department:

- (a) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1960.
- (b) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Salary and Allowances Act, 1959.
- (c) The Odisha Ministers' Salary and Allowances Act, 1952.
- (d) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Salary, Allowances and Pension Act, 1954.
- (e) The Odisha Ministers' Travelling Allowance Rules, 1964.
- (f) The Odisha Ministers' Motor Car Advance Rules, 1967.
- (g) The Odisha Ministers' Drawal of Sitting Allowance Rules, 1995.
- (h) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker's Motor Car Advance Rules, 1968.
- (i) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Drawal of Travelling Allowances and Daily Allowances Rules, 1957.
- (j) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Accommodation in Inspection Bungalows Rules, 1962.
- (k) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Telephone Facilities Rules, 1964.
- (I) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Salary and Allowance (Deduction of House Rent and other Charges) Rules, 1957.
- (m) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' (Medical Attendance) Rules, 1965.
- (n) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Ex-Members' Pension Rules, 1979.

- (o) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Family Pension Rules, 1988.
- (p) The Odisha Legislative Assembly Members' Jeep, Motor Cycle, Scooter or alike Vehicle Advance Rules, 1986.
- (q) The Leader of Opposition of the Odisha Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1968.
- (r) The Government Chief Whip and Government Deputy Chief Whip of Odisha Legislative Assembly's Staff and Privileges Rules, 1969.

#### 4. Odisha Legislative Assembly and Legislative Affairs:

The Parliamentary Affairs Department deals with summon, prorogation and dissolution of the Odisha Legislative Assembly. After the General Election to the Odisha Legislative Assembly during May, 2019, the 16<sup>th</sup> Odisha Legislative Assembly was constituted by the Election Commission of India vide their Notification No.308/OR-LA/2019 dated 25th May, 2019. During 2020-21, three sessions of the 16<sup>th</sup> Odisha Legislative Assembly have been convened.

- (i) 4<sup>th</sup> Session from 29<sup>th</sup> September, 2020 to 6<sup>th</sup> August, 2020.
- (ii) 5<sup>th</sup> Session from 20<sup>th</sup> November, 2020 to 29<sup>th</sup> November, 2020.
- (iii) 6<sup>th</sup> Session from 18<sup>th</sup> February, 2021......is continuing.

#### 5. Council of Ministers and Cabinet:

The Council of Ministers is functioning under the Chairmanship of Shri Naveen Pattnaik, Hon'ble Chief Minister with effect from 29.05.2019 for the fifth consecutive terms. With the kind approval of Hon'ble Chief Minister, Memoranda of different Departments of Government are placed before the Cabinet / Council of Ministers by the Parliamentary Affairs Department. During the year 2020-21, 4(four) Meetings of the Council of Ministers and 13(thirteen) Meetings of the Cabinet were convened in which 147 Memoranda were approved out of the 155 considered.

#### 6. Implementation of Right to Information Act:

During the year 2020-21, 71 (Seventyone) R.T.I. applications and 2 (Two) First Appeal petitions were received by the P.I.O. and First Appellate Authority of this Department respectively. Actions on all the applications have been taken as per the provisions in the Right to Information Act, 2005.

#### 7. Youth Parliament Competition:

As per the decision taken in All India Whips Conference and meeting of the Ministers for Parliamentary Affairs, first ever Youth Parliament Competition was organized in the year 2009-10 in the State through School & Mass Education Department with an aim to spread the message of parliamentary democracy. Since then, nine Youth Parliament Competitions have been taken up. During the year under reference, the funds have been allotted for organizing 11<sup>th</sup> Youth Parliament Competition.

#### 8.Book Circular No.47:

Book Circular No.47 containing detailed guidelines with regard to relationship between Members of Parliament and State Legislators and Government Servant is administered by the Parliamentary Affairs Department. The Department issues appropriate instructions to ensure that guidelines enumerated in the Book Circular are scrupulously implemented / followed by all concerned in letter and spirit. It also makes necessary amendments in the Circular as and when required. Parliamentary Affairs Department has formulated a mechanism to deal with the letters received from Hon'ble M.L.As & M.Ps. As per the instruction of Parliamentary Affairs Department, a Nodal Officer has been designated and a special Cell has been created in each Department to monitor the letters of Hon'ble M.L.As & M.Ps. Parliamentary Affairs Department is also monthly reviewing the status report of different Departments.

#### 9. Special Cell:

One Special Cell has been constituted vide Parliamentary Affairs Department Office Order No.851/PAD, dated 03.01.2006 to liaise between the Assembly Secretariat and different Departments of Government for compliance to various observations / recommendations of the Standing Committees and the House Committees etc. of Odisha Legislative Assembly.